About Historic Nashville, Inc.

Established in 1968 and renamed in 1975, Historic Nashville, Inc. (HNI) is a nonprofit 501(c)3 membership organization with the mission to promote and preserve the historic places that make Nashville unique.  Over the years, HNI has successfully advocated for the preservation of such historic places the Ryman Auditorium, Union Station, Hermitage Hotel, 2nd Avenue & Lower Broadway and Shelby Street Bridge, as well as neighborhood historic districts throughout the city.

In 1982, HNI established the state’s first Preservation Easement program and currently owns easements on 17 historic landmarks with a market value of over $50 million. HNI hosts an annual membership meeting, publishes an Annual Report, maintains a website, hosts educational programs such as Behind-the-Scenes tours and the annual Nashville Nine list of the city’s most endangered historic places. 

Read the 2015 Annual Report

Read about Historic Nashville's Fight to Save Union Station


2016 Board Officers:


  • Brian Tibbs, President
  • Grant Mullins, Vice President
  • Katie Galaz, Secretary
  • Jared King, Treasurer
  • Melissa Wyllie, Past President


Board Members:


  • Trey Bruce
  • Sharon Corbitt-House
  • Yuri Cunza
  • Connie Gee
  • Susan Hager
  • Cate Hamilton
  • Jennifer Harrman
  • Robbie D. Jones
  • Seamus Kelly
  • David McMurry
  • Sarah Jane Murray
  • Andrew Newby
  • Julie Robison
  • Matt Schutz
  • Mike Wolfe
  • Ex-Officio, Carolyn Brackett, National Trust for Historic Preservation
  • Ex-Officio,Robert Tuke, Legal Counsel
  • Ex-Officio, Tim Walker, Metro Nashville Historical Commission